Upgrading an immersion heater from AC to 48V DC

davelondon

Joined Mar 30, 2021
I'd like to change the immersion heater element in a hot water calorifier tank to a 1500W, 48V DC unit, like this.

I've been told the thermostat won't like switching DC and would need to be changed to something DC rated, perhaps with a contactor or relay doing the switching. It seems to me that this should be a relatively simple project, but I'm not an expert...

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
A contractor like this one: https://www.ato.com/50a-dc-contactor-single-pole-12v-24v-48v connected to your existing thermostat should work. Nominally you are switching around 31A but using a contractor rated higher is a good idea.

You will have to work out the current voltage being used by the thermostat. If it is directly switching the mains voltage, you have a choice to get an AC mains voltage coil in the contractor or supplying a lower voltage to one like I showed you.

davelondon

Joined Mar 30, 2021
Wow so it's as simple as connecting the existing thermostat to the contactor? No extra circuits needed? That would be great...

davelondon

Joined Mar 30, 2021
Hopefully this would work without the mains AC running at all (I'm swapping this out so that I can leave my inverter turned off but have the immersion heater running)...

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Wow so it's as simple as connecting the existing thermostat to the contactor? No extra circuits needed? That would be great...
If you can swap out the current heating element for the DC one, it's that simple. It's a basic resistive load, and the thermostat is just a heat operated switch.

davelondon

Joined Mar 30, 2021
Over on dirsolarforum I was told that you can't change an AC thermostat to 48V DC: https://diysolarforum.com/threads/upgrading-an-ac-immersion-heater-to-48v-dc.20383/