Unidentified SMD component on Samsung TV backlight led strip

Pavel Kryml

Joined Jul 20, 2022
Hello everybody.

I am trying to repair Samsung TV backlight strip which has apparently all LEDs intact (tested and working) but won't light up as whole.

There are some components between each LED which I am not able to identify and has no markings to help me with that.

If anyone would be so kind and lead me the right way it would be very appreciated

The led strip is from Samsung TV UA40J5200DK and has this identification on it:
Samsung 2015 SVS39.5 FHD FCOM 8LED REV2.2 160925 LM41-00465A

Attaching the picture. IMG_20220720_230211.jpg

Pavel Kryml

Joined Jul 20, 2022
Oh, yes, it's the one right under the LED.

Here's the better picture:
IMG_20220721_003252.jpg I am new to repairing PCB's amd haven't seen this yet. I can tell rezistors, capacotors, tranzistors etc. but this one is confusing to me.

I am sure you'd guys know right away :)

Pavel Kryml

Joined Jul 20, 2022
Probably diode. It returns 9.6M ohm one way and infinity the other way. If I measure it on diode settings in one way (correct polarity) the LED lights up the other get 0.783V.

Mystery solved. Now just figure out, what diode rating to put there as a replacement for the bad ones. I guess will just try IN4007. Don't have any SMD laying around.

Thanks for your help!

Ad. 2 : That's not actually light pipe, just the stand to support the dispenser and LCD panel.

Pavel Kryml

Joined Jul 20, 2022
Or do you think it is possible it is some kind of IR Led?
I found some pictures of SMD IR leds, which look similar. I am not sure what would be the reason to put IR led in backlight of TV, but it might be so.

If I hit it with 3V I don't see any light emitted at all. But also the Info on the strip says 94V which makes a little sense while there are 8 LEDs on it...