Trying to adapt 230vAc (30 amp) to 96vDc (22 amp)

Thread Starter

gte

Joined Sep 18, 2009
353
I spoke to a company today that said a device that did this from them was 7k dollars?

Can I put (8) 12vDc 30amp power supplies together in series to get 96vDc and 30amps?
 

Roderick Young

Joined Feb 22, 2015
408
Assuming that the outputs are fully isolated, yes, you should be able to stack supplies.

If the negative output of the supply is connected to earth ground, for example, the supplies will not stack.
 

Thread Starter

gte

Joined Sep 18, 2009
353
Thank you, that is what I thought. The sellers replied saying that I could not do that without explanation as to why and I had thought that you could, just like batteries as there is no difference.

Do you have any idea where I can find the 24vDc's or the 48vDc's? Let components would be preferred, they need to be 30amp though.

Thanks



yes or four 24's or two 48's.
 

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
2,867
Depends on what you need it for.

Isolated, non-isolated, regulated, allowable voltage over and under limits.

That sort of stuff needs to be known before anyone can make recommendations.
 
I did a quick look: XFR 100-28

http://www.programmablepower.com/dc-power-supply/XFR/Overview.htm

eby: http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/271543096343?lpid=82&chn=ps&ul_noapp=true ~$2500.00 USD

Note that there is a spec call "Maximum Voltage Differential" http://www.programmablepower.com/dc-power-supply/XFR/Specifications.htm
Which would be a "stacking voltage" when supplies are used in series.

A good OLD reference is the HP power supply handbook: http://literature.cdn.keysight.com/litweb/pdf/5989-6288EN.pdf?id=922613

Supplies in my day could be bought such that they could be used in a series/parallel master/slave mode with certain interconnections.
Usually two identical supples could be used that way. One knob (the master) controlled both supplies. Current and voltage operation.

Keysight and Kikisui are other manufactures.
 

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
8,590
I had thought that you could, just like batteries as there is no difference.
No, they are not just like batteries and there are large differences.

Batteries do not have feedback loops with gain and bandwidth and phase compensation and offsets and resonant poles, nor high frequency noise and unsynchronized beat frequencies. Sorenson is a great ps manufacturer, and their name on the box doubles your chance of success. But the stacked output will be noisy. When a load transient happens, eight different control loops are going to compensate for it at the same time. This usually is not a problem when stacking 2 or 3 outputs, but with 8 you might get oscillation.

ak
 

Thread Starter

gte

Joined Sep 18, 2009
353
Thank you all for replying.

I was able to find a single power supply this evening and it's only $500 and designed specifically for that, so I will save myself any trouble and use that.
 
Top