Trouble understanding flux

omgadoggie

Joined Apr 16, 2016
so i'm studying what flux is and i just want to make sure i understand it correctly. it can either refer to a single vector component, say like a beam of light, emerging from some singularity over some amount of time... OR the total amount of light emerging over some amount of time from a given surface, right? correct me if i'm wrong
so then if i were to think about some amount of charge, flowing through some amount of time, that would be current... but if i were to think about some amount of charge, flowing through some amount of time over/through some surface, then that would be flux, correct?
just need to make sure i understand this properly

JoeJester

Joined Apr 26, 2005
from http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/flux
Full Definition of flux
1: a flowing of fluid from the body: as
a : diarrhea
b : dysentery
2: a continuous moving on or passing by (as of a stream)
3: a continued flow : flood
4a : influx
b : change, fluctuation <in a state of flux>
5: a substance used to promote fusion (as of metals or minerals); especially : one (as rosin) applied to surfaces to be joined by soldering, brazing, or welding to clean and free them from oxide and promote their union
6: the rate of transfer of fluid, particles, or energy across a given surface
There are many applications for that word.

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
Flux is a word that describes density (area) and usually the velocity of a concentration of matter or force......or a property of such.
The concentration doesn't have to be moving, but usually is. A charged cap has a stationary flux.

The wind is a flux. The salt concentration in a glass of still water can be described as a flux. Our galaxy is a flux of stars.

The force of gravity, the electric and magnetic force can be described as a flux. Current is a flux, as is voltage.