Traveling with unassembled electronics

LaserPhile

Joined Apr 24, 2015
Hey everybody,

I was just wondering if any of you have any experience traveling with electronic components. I am an electronics hobbyist, and would like to bring my electronics with me when I travel. However, I have never tried it, and I am certain that airport security would not be happy seeing all of these questionable wires and ICs. If I were a TSA agent, that would scare the ever-living daylight out of me, no matter how nice the guy trying to get it through looked. Anybody have any experience with this?

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
Yes. They will inspect them and displace them some but generally that's all. They'll confiscate (steal) anything that looks like it could contain butane or propane even if it's new, sealed in it's original packaging and never been filled with gas so avoid butane tools at all costs. They also like to steal lithium ion tool batteries.

Make sure to use TSA locks, organize things so they're easy for a moron to inspect and put back without damage and pack only minimal quantities of chemicals, all with factory labels. Expect losses despite these precautions.

Consider sending your kit via a parcel service instead. I've had some success moving butane tools by air this way by demonstrating their uncharged, vented state to the agent before sealing the package.

I once carried 85 pounds of steel brackets onto a plane in a carry on bag. TSA asked about them when they showed up on the X-ray but were satisfied with my explanation that they were for artillery targets. I had to make sure none of the air crew saw me clean and jerk that case into the overhead compartment but otherwise had no difficulty. :rolleyes:

Last edited:

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
I ferried components and hand-built circuits between the U.S. to S.E. Asia many times and never even saw a raised eyebrow (about those things).

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011