Transistor Switch Circuit Problem

julchak

Joined Dec 18, 2014
Hi everyone,
I'm very new to electric circuit design, a mechanical engineer here so excuse me for my lack of knowledge on the matter. I worked with another coworker to put together this circuit however am running into issues which neither of us can figure out and was hoping that I could use your guys' knowledge to help guide me through this troubleshooting, as I have a feeling it is probably a rather simple problem that us MechE's are just overlooking. Note: I've linked each of the components listed to their respective datasheets for reference, and vendor part numbers.

The circuit is a control circuit which I am putting into a testing device in order to ensure that the lithium ion battery does not succumb to a low voltage which would damage it - the circuit's intention is to provide 2 set points which will trigger different battery protection actions:
  1. Signalling a low battery red LED, turning on the LED at a battery level of ~7.3V
  2. Signalling a relay to switch off and kill the system when the battery level reaches ~6.3V
We've put together this control circuit using a NO pushbutton (SB4011NOH-2F) for the power on button, a NC button (SB4011NCH-2C) for the off button, a Omron G5V01 SPDT Relay (653-G5V-1-DC6), two transistors (ON Semiconductor TIP31AG - 863-TIP31AG), resistors, an LED (67-1148-ND) and a fuse (486-2007-ND).

I tried to draw a diagram of how the circuit is arranged: