Total beginner needing some help for a small personal project

DarrenP

Joined Sep 20, 2021
Good investment if you want to dive deeper into electronics. Recommend one of the Fluke models.
Yes I'll definitely have to get one, might order one later

So, thinking about my little project, I'm confident that the circuit is correct now, and I'm actually thinking of using the original 24V bulbs, but my next problem is adding some control to it.

I'd like to add a 3way switch - 1 position which be off, 2 position would be for it to be controlled by a button, 3 would be to be controlled by a motion sensor.

Is this possible? I can think of loads of questions, is there a particular rating the switch has to have? I'm thinking of using an old cool looking aircraft switch, but not sure if this is possible, and also how to facto in these controls into my circuit.

Sorry for the long post

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
Is this possible? I can think of loads of questions, is there a particular rating the switch has to have? I'm thinking of using an old cool looking aircraft switch, but not sure if this is possible, and also how to facto in these controls into my circuit.
Just about anything you want to do is possible. Just a matter of how you go about doing it. If you return to 28 volt aircraft lamps (327 bulbs) or use LED newer substitutes (expensive) it becomes a matter of exactly what patterns you want and exactly what sequence you want. You can use discrete components or even a uC (micro-controller). Most 327 28 VDC aircraft lamps (indicator type) were driven using 2N2222 transistors but also as you can see Darlington pairs like you have also work. So just a matter of mapping out what you want and how to get there.

Ron

dcbingaman

Joined Jun 30, 2021
Yes I'll definitely have to get one, might order one later