Total beginner needing some help for a small personal project

DarrenP

Joined Sep 20, 2021
Hi, I've just signed up the forum, as I'm a total newbie to electronics but thought I'd give it a go just for a hobbie. I set myself a little project, I bought a cool looking old aircraft indicator, hopefully I've managed to attach a picture of it, but basically it's 5 rows of 4 minature lightbulbs, midget flange ones, written on the side it says 28V .04A whihc im guessing are the lamps in there at the moment.

So far, I've managed to hook it to a Nano board and have programmed the lights to come on in sequence and jump about etc., I'm just playing aorund really, with a view of learning as I go.

My next question, if any one could help me is options to replacing the lamps. They are very dim at the moment due to the fact they are only being powered through the 5V nano board, so I wondered what I could replace them with, lower powered lamps, or LEDS, and as I'm running the 5V nano processor, will I be limited to using 5V for the whole circuit?

s-l1600.jpg
Sorry for the very basic questions, as I said I'm just learning really so apologies, any help or advice would be great.

ElectricSpidey

Joined Dec 2, 2017
Last edited:

DarrenP

Joined Sep 20, 2021
There are 4 lamps per legend or row; so 20 in total.

I've seen some LEDs that might work 3V ones I could just reaplce them with as I'd like to keep much of the inners as original as possible as its relaly well put toegther.

What I can't work out or have no idea about, and I need to learn, is how do you work out how much power is needed?

So if there are 20 Lamps in total do you have to have enough power to run them all and the processor, and how do you work that out? and the rating of the LEDs is that what's required to run them or the highest voltage they can take etc.

Sorry I said I was a total newbie, but I'm enjoying learning and appreciate the help!

Thanks!

DarrenP

Joined Sep 20, 2021