torque motor drive; power and control

advtc

Joined Mar 16, 2017
I have a Tecnotion QTR-A-105-25-N that is the only unit I can find that fits my application. My problem is driving the unit; I need a small 3 phase synchronous drive only 230Vacrms or 300Vdc. Input preferrably 12-18Vdc. Controls (halls, temperature etc), ideal but not necessary at this stage (just need to test the concept). I am a newbie with some high school electronics so am completely out of my depth!

advtc

Joined Mar 16, 2017
Are you hoping to build a controller?
This is no small feat, especially for a beginner.
Max.
If nothing else is available, but I would prefer to find something 'good enough' to do the job that's already available. I neither need nor want to complicate this especially as the motor is only needed for short bursts of a few seconds. Thanks for replying and thanks also for reminding me of a great show.

advtc

Joined Mar 16, 2017
That's an awful lot to go thru for a short burst. How about a hammer?

Perhaps a different strategy.
been there - and occasionally return to the hammer idea (especially after running down yet another dead end), its just not that reproducible, accurate or consistent.

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
You could use a 12 volt DC to 230 volt inverter of suitable rating to feed the three phase inverter (You have not told us what power rating you need) If your DC supply ia varying between 12 and 18 volts you would need to build a voltage regulator that had a very low dropout voltage. (For when your DC supply dropped to 12 volts.)

Les.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
A synchronous motor isn't synchronous until it is up to speed and the rotor is hit with the DC pull in voltage. Until that point it is just a 3 phase induction motor. How long in actual units of time measure is "a short burst"?

advtc

Joined Mar 16, 2017