The systematic approach to system design?

Sleone

Joined Nov 8, 2014
I have a degree in Electronics Engineering and I understand the science and mathematics behind the components and circuits. But unfortunately I never studied how to design and implement a commercial-grade Electronics system from scratch. I want to design a communications module for a cubesat, and I am unsure where to start.

Now beyond gathering the technical know-how, is there a systematic approach on how to manage and realise an electronics project? Its not the science I'm struggling with, its the methodology. Book recommendations would be great.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
What you want to learn is probably not available from a single book. There are two ways to get where you want to go:
  1. Watch and assist someone who knows how to do it. Then do what they do.
  2. Spend at least twice as much in time in solitary experimentation to develop the required skillset.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Make a block diagram.
What are you starting with? What is the definition of the signal or the requirements to be met? What do you need it to cause when it arrives? Is it a DC supply and you need to make a signal? Is it an RF signal and you need to detect it? Start really, really simple. Everything complicated is made of lots of simple parts. When you get the functions all in a row, you can work on reducing cost and complication, then safety requirements.

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Ok, so you've observed and worked alongside someone who knows how to do it. But did you know what "it" is?

I always start with a very detailed list of what I want it to do. While making this list,other questions will arise. Their answers become part of this list. When you can't think of anything else to add or remove, you've finished part one.