Test relay

RicardoR

Joined Jan 25, 2019
Good afternoon!
I'm an electrical enginnering student and I already studied about relays and how to test them but I still have some questions. My car has a electrical problem in the glow plug system and I think that is the glow plug relay that is bad but to be sure I want to test it. The problem is that it's a weird relay, a little bit different from those I worked with, so I don't know how I can test this one... I know that we should complete the circuit to test the relay but in this one I don't know anything about it. Does anybody knows where I should connect the power and the multimeter in order to test it?
Thanks!

IMG_20190125_183123.png

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Good afternoon!
I'm an electrical enginnering student and I already studied about relays and how to test them but I still have some questions. My car has a electrical problem in the glow plug system and I think that is the glow plug relay that is bad but to be sure I want to test it. The problem is that it's a weird relay, a little bit different from those I worked with, so I don't know how I can test this one... I know that we should complete the circuit to test the relay but in this one I don't know anything about it. Does anybody knows where I should connect the power and the multimeter in order to test it?
One thing you can do is test the ohms between every pair of contacts. When you find a pair that has low (100Ω?) but not zero ohms, that's probably the actuator coil. Place 12V across those and you should hear it click. You should also see contact made between two pins, probably those two big ones. If the actuator coil has failed open, this obviously won't work.

A more methodical approach - probably faster in the long run - is to look up the part number and get the schematic.

RicardoR

Joined Jan 25, 2019