Switching a low side IGBT with a PNP transistor, will this work?

Tjaart1

Joined May 7, 2018
Attached is a home brew schematic of a treadmill motor controller. The circuit is separated in three sections:
  1. AC switched to DC controlled with IGBT and Diode fly-back passed through resistor network off board.ac part.png
  2. 1 of the 2 secondary coils from transformer rectified and smoothed with capacitor and then passed to 12V regulator as switching voltage for IGBT. IGBT switched with NPN (TIP32) through a opto-couplar from Pic microcontroller.12v part.png
  3. 2 of the 2 coiled transformer rectified and smoothed and fed through to 5V regulator. This in turn is switched on/off of board and runs the microcontroller.5V controlle part.png

I am not a complete newbie but would like some feedback about my circuit. I am especially unsure about switching the IGBT with the TIP32.

Complete circuit : (note pot, push buttons, on/off switch, Led all off PCB) PDF attached
I don't have spice models for everything so I can't simulate the circuit.
IGBT=60n45b.... something. Its a N channel IGBT with no paralleled diode included and Q2 is a TIP32
Earthing and switching AC on/off as well as other savety trips/overloads and such are taken care of off board.

Attachments

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
Looks like the gate drive is totally floating from the IGBT circuit, not gonna work.
The voltages on the Gate are RELATIVE to Emitter, so you need to connect the floating power supply ground to the Emitter circuit.

Tjaart1

Joined May 7, 2018
Looks like the gate drive is totally floating from the IGBT circuit, not gonna work.
The voltages on the Gate are RELATIVE to Emitter, so you need to connect the floating power supply ground to the Emitter circuit.
I was hoping to keep the high dc motor with all its induction noise separate from the 12v side. If I understand correctly you are suggesting a pull down resistor from gate to The high voltage side emitter?

Sensacell