Support for extended memory on 32 bit microcontrollers

mrau

Joined Jul 13, 2015
hello,

im a total newb, so please be a little bit patient with me;
im looking for a way to handle by means of a microcontroller a rather big amount of dram; most devices i found so far only do up to 2 or 4 gigs or ram and i definitely need more, im aiming for 16 gb; the memory itself will hold only data, its meant to be a buffer; the speed range, depending on the final interface, from 40-60 to over 200 mb/s (memory bandwidth); could anyone suggest how i can attain such an amount of memory on any 32bit microcontroller? or are there 64bit device on the market with a more or less normal price tag? if not a device, with an integrated dram controller, maybe an external controller attached to a 32 bit controller could do more memory? but would it perform attached via gpio or whatever? or is this a task for a fpga to simulate a wider adressable range?

thanks
m

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I recommend that you build a virtual memory controller if you can stand the address translation delay. What device is going to generate such large addresses?

mrau

Joined Jul 13, 2015
thanks for the quick reply;
i would have to wrap my mind around this idea first; by virtual memory controller you means thh alike to pae technology from intel? the large adresses are not a must, its for example a video source that will quickly generate a huge amount of data i need to make sure i wont slow down the saving of that stream, so i dont really look for large adresses, more for huge memory capacity with guaranteed bandwidth;

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
OK so what I mean by a virtual memory controller is one that takes a n-bit address space and maps it into a m-bit address space, where:

\(n > m\)