Student Helmet Project

newb1234

Joined May 21, 2016
I am a student and am making a helmet for a class project. I only know basic soldering and am pretty good with computers.

I would like the helmet to have some cool features like lights and moving parts. More specifically:

• When you get within 3 feet of the helmet, it turns on EL tape in the left eye and an LED light in the right eye.
  • Two fans in either side of the helmet would turn on
  • Hidden speaker would play one of 3 programmed sentences (I can record the voice).

The helmet will be hallow and can hold items such as batteries / wires / etc. I would like the battery to last at least a year without being replaced with occasional use.

Please see attached image to get an idea.

I don't know enough about electronics to make this happen. Can anyone tell me how I would best set the aforementioned system up? Also, where is the best place to buy the components?

Thank you in advance for your time.

Attachments

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
Have you considered how you will detect a person within 3ft of the helmet? PIR? Ultrasonic? Optical? Pressure mat? ......
How critical is the 3ft value?
Which sound recorder module will you use?
Are you set on using fans (they are relatively current-hungry, so will account for a good part of the battery drain)?
Are you aware EL tape will require a high voltage supply, necessitating a DC-DC converter?
Is this an Arts, Science, Tech, ..... class project?

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
As described, this is an intermediate or advanced project.

I had to chuckle a bit when I saw your illustration with what looked like a single AA battery on the side. I know you said this could have batteries inside though, so no big deal.

The fans are an interesting element. Are they needed somehow for air flow, a visual motion effect, sound or what? As mentioned by Alec, the answer could have a big effect on energy needs.