stm32, uart interrupt, TureSTUDIO

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
Hi @MrChips

As discussed on another thread
On a side note, I am playing with an stm32f303k8 in TrueSTUDIO, I love the CubeMX which can generate the driver for me and set up the clock. But I find that the uart driver generated by CubeMX is bit weird (how it handle interrupt) and I think it's not suitable for embedded system (at least not what I use to anyway).

So I want to write my own uart/usart interrupt driver, but I don't seem to find an user guide/manual for the arm-gcc compiler use in TrueSTUDIO. I have no idea how to hook my own uart/usart interrupt code, any pointer for me?? I am totally new to ARM
Thanks for your help!

NV64

Joined Feb 15, 2019
I think it is better learn UART CubeMX than trying to write your own. But if have to, see how to implement a UART library SPL. It is lower level.

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
I think it is better learn UART CubeMX than trying to write your own. But if have to, see how to implement a UART library SPL. It is lower level.
What I want to do is just like here, and the UART by CubeMX can't do that.
https://stackoverflow.com/questions...nabled-forever-using-hal-library-on-a-stm32f1

Just google stm32 SPL, seem like what I need. I will read though the manual. Thanks for the pointer.

If by any chance you use TrueSTUDIO, do you know where I can find the arm-gcc compiler manual use in TureSTUDIO? I googled it but can't find anything.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You don't have to but learning how to use CubeMX is not a bad idea. It will provide you with the template and hooks to get you started.
It is very difficult to roll your own from scratch if you don't know how to do it.

A good starting point is to begin with a working example.
Go to
File> Import...> Example Project> Download new example project from TrueSTORE
Next>
STMicroelectronics
STM32F3_Discovery
STM32F3_Discovery_EXTI_Example

Open the file stm32f30x_it.c

This is the interrupt file.