Soldering the AUX IN cable to the JVC KD-161 radio

luuk13579

Joined Dec 13, 2023
I soldered the AUX IN cable as in the diagram, added capacitors. In the diagram, pin 4 is GND. I insert a CD with a silent recording and unfortunately nothing comes from the smartphone. I will add that I am a complete amateur in these matters. The soldering went quite smoothly, no cables touching or soldering. I read threads somewhere that in a similar radio they cut off the beams from the CD stereo, but how to do it (link to the thread below) and then solder R and L. I also tried without capacitors.
automotive - DIY Aux In connection to car stereo JVC KD-G151 - Electrical Engineering Stack Exchange

MANUAL:
Service Manual - JVC KD-G162 - Car CD Tuner (opweb.de)
6479609700_1701112372.jpg

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
It seems you‘d be much better off using the radio input with a DPDT switch or relay to select between radio and aux.

The amazingly janky idea of a “CD of silence” is like a joke.

luuk13579

Joined Dec 13, 2023
It seems you‘d be much better off using the radio input with a DPDT switch or relay to select between radio and aux.

The amazingly janky idea of a “CD of silence” is like a joke.
Could you simplify it for me how it will work. I have never heard of DPDT

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Could you simplify it for me how it will work. I have never heard of DPDT
DPDT means double pole double throw. It is a classification for a switch or relay that has two independent mechanisms able to each switch one input to two outputs or two outputs to one input. As a result you can use it to select between the radios output as input to the pins of the IC in the E.VOLUME block.

1702627755989.png

A DPDT switch or relay, you can connect a two channel output to the P side
and switch between two inputs connected to the T side, or in your case,
connect two outputs to the T side and select one or the other
as the input to E.VOLUME connected to the P side.