Soldering problem.

Jac Stone

Joined Mar 11, 2022
Hi, I'm new to electronics and circuit design so I'm looking for a bit of information and advice.
I'm designing a little "widget" which has just three components in a circuit, a coin cell battery holder, a sliding micro switch and a LED light, the idea is to have them hand solder together using 0.5mm insulated wire. The problem is with the micro switch, it seems impossible to find a 2 pin switch ( I've search Alibaba for weeks) all the switches are two way with the common pin in the center, the space between the common pin and the other pins is only 2.5mm and the soldering company says they are too close together for soldering.SMALL SWITCH.jpg

Is there any other way to connect a 0.5mm wire to the pins, why would they make a micro switch if it is to small to use solder?
Any advise would be much appreciated.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC.

First, just a detail but "microswitch" refers to a snap action switch of the sort used as a limit or sensitive detection switch. What you have there is an SPDT (Single Pole Double Throw) slide switch. It could be called "sub-miniature" but not "micro".

2.5(4)mm is the standard spacing for PCB mounting. It's 1/10" which is why it became the standard. It is very easy solder in place.

I don't understand how you want to solder them together, could you draw a picture? And, I don't know what your "soldering company" refers to, could you clarify?

You are not going to find a two pin slide switch, it would make no sense to manufacture since mechanically the space on each side of the center needs to be the same and adding the contact provide both switching flexibility and mechanical strength.

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
That switch is intended for PCB mounting. If you intend to use wires, get a panel mount switch, these are made to have wires soldered to them.

Bob

Jac Stone

Joined Mar 11, 2022
Welcome to AAC.