Soft latching switch no working as intended (assistance appreciated)

IQWorkshop

Joined Jun 9, 2020
Hi all,

First of all i will say i'm a novice circuit maker so please be kind.

I wonder if someone would be so kind as to offer some support in figuring out why my soft latching switch, which will be controlling an Arduino pro micro in the end, is not behaving as expected.

I'm following an example from EEVblog on YouTube but I am swapping the NPN and PNP transistors for N-channel mosfets and a P-channel mosfet respectfully.

this is my schematic

And this is my board layout (there is 1 via for connecting GND)

The Mosfets i'm using are: -
P channel Mosfet is a BSS84 (SOT23)
N channel Mosfet is a BSS138 (SOT23)

I have checked out the circuit to the best of my ability and cannot find any shorts and all traces have continuity.

Behaviour
The circuit is powered by a single 18650 cell, and when connected I get the full voltage on the output pins of the latching switch circuit without pressing the button.

Pressing the button, I see voltage drop to the mV range so I know the shutdown side of the circuit is good.

As soon as i release the button the voltage goes back to full output voltage.

It would seem that something is triggering the n channel mosfet and in turn triggering the main p channel output mosfet, but I cannot wrap my head around the logic of why this is happening.

I do wonder if my mosfet selection is the problem here and that the internal diode is breaking down, but this is me guessing as opposed to having any logic to back that up.

Thanks for any help and suggestions
Steve

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Before I try to make any sense of your schematic, are you really using a -5V supply?

soft latching switch
What is a "soft latching" switch? If you're trying to make a momentary switch behave as an alternate action switch, why not just call it that?

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008