Simple circuit odd behavior diagnosis help

Discussion in 'Digital Circuit Design' started by Steve Hart, Dec 5, 2018 at 11:17 PM.

1. Steve Hart

Thread Starter New Member

Wednesday
    I created a simple circuit with a 9V power supply and a on/off toggle switch for power. I had the board made and populated it. Everything worked normally for hours. No odd behavior at all. I turned the circuit off and left it for a day. When I came back to it, I noticed that the LED was on when the power switch was set to off. I unplugged the switch connector such that pin 1 and pin 2 of the power switch are not connected in any way. When the 9V source is plugged in, I read a 2V supply going to R3, C2, and the LED. For the life of me I cannot see how this is possible. I'm sure there is a logical explanation for it but I'm still a newbie with PCB design so how this is happening is stumping me. With the power switch pins not connected, the circuit should not work at all. What am I missing here. I posted a pic of the layout so you can see how things are traced out. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. pcb.jpg

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Do you have a schematic?

3. Steve Hart

Wednesday
    I'm sure this was not the most efficient way to design it, but I'm still learning how to put together custom PCBs. I appreciate the help! pcb1.jpg

4. ebp

Feb 8, 2018
    Occasionally there are manufacturing problems with boards and you can have a narrow thin bit of copper where it shouldn't be. It can be really hard to see without backlighting the board. Solder mask and component outlines can make seeing it more difficult and components can hide it altogether. Check across the pads for the switch with an ohmmeter with the battery disconnected. If you find conductivity when there should be none, then it is a matter of trying to isolate where it exists.

Steve Hart likes this.
  5. Steve Hart

Wednesday