Simetrix: Initial conditions ruining simulations!

Abbas_BrainAlive

Joined Feb 21, 2018
Hello.

This is my first attempt with electronic simulators, and I have been struggling with understanding how MPLAB MINDI (Simetrix) implements initial conditions in capacitors.

I am trying to simulate two basic Op-Amp circuit configurations, one is an inverting amplifier with a 10x gain, while the other is the same circuit with a capacitor added in parallel to the feedback resistor, making it an LPF with 10x gain in the passband. I am referencing the non-inverting terminal to mid-supply, and it is decoupled through a heavy capacitor, in order to suppress the Johnson noise. The simulations run pretty nicely, just as expected, when I do not put any initial condition on this capacitor. As soon as I assert any initial condition on this decoupling capacitor, the simulation fails miserably.

Here are the two schematics and their responses.
Inverting Amplifier.png Inverting Amplifier_FrequencyResponce.png

LPF_Gain.png LPF_Gain_FrequencyResponse.png

Please note that the dotted lines are the frequency responses of the circuits with Initial Conditions for CR1 set to Initial voltage (with the voltage and options set as depicted in the below image), while the solid lines are the frequency responses of the circuits with Initial Conditions set to Open circuit (all the options are automatically disabled at this setting).

Cap_Config.png

I would be grateful if someone would like to share their experiences with Simetrix, and providing me with a little guidance in understanding how it handles its stuff.

Warm Regards,
Abbas.

Last edited:

TeeKay6

Joined Apr 20, 2019
Hello.

This is my first attempt with electronic simulators, and I have been struggling with understanding how MPLAB MINDI (Simetrix) implements initial conditions in capacitors.