Short pulse rise time with photoconductive switch or photodiode

Marv_92

Joined Oct 9, 2018
Hi,

I am trying to produce voltage pulses with very short rise time (<15 ps), medium width (20 ns) and amplitudes up to 15 V. As a promising candidate I selected photoconductive switches and ultrafast photodiodes. However, I have limited knowledge about electronics at all and thus, even less knowledge about these devices. Do you think it is possible to produce pulses like that by applying a bias voltage to the switch/diode and send a laser pulse with approx. 20 ns width to the photosensitive area?

I already found photoconductive switches at Hamamatsu and Laser Quantum that might work. In particular, I am talking about the G4176-01 and the Tera-SED3, respectively. However, I cannot imagine how to connect these switches. For the Tera-SED3, one would have to use the ground as the output but how to deal with the grounds than without violating the impedance?

I appreciate any help, advise, new insights and ideas. Also, if you know another supplier of photoconductive switches or photodiodes that might work for my purposes, I would be very grateful if you share these with me.

MrSoftware

Joined Oct 29, 2013
The first thing to do is check the data sheets for the devices that you have chosen and see if they can operate as quickly as you need.

Marv_92

Joined Oct 9, 2018
I was in contact with the company, from the datasheet side everything should be fine. However, they were not able to give me exact information on how to use these terahertz emitters for my purpose. Attached, you can find a sketch of a photoconductive switch. Usually the - electrode is the ground. However, I have to use the - electrode as an output now. Since the switch is connected with a BNC cable, I have no idea how to deal with the grounds now and how to get my voltage pulse (which is in the ground line of the BNC) to the sample.

Attachments

Marv_92

Joined Oct 9, 2018
Hi ericgibbs,
thanks for the idea!