series-parallel network

buddy0591

Joined Sep 29, 2014
Hi to all
I'm new at this (retired pharmacist with a interest in electronics), I'm been reading and studying some texts
I've come up with one problem (of many) that I can't figure out how to get all the answers .
The answers to the problem is as follows:
a) 16 amps (Rt=5 ohms)- I figured this one
b) I3=I9=4 amps,
c) I8= 1 amp
d) Vab= 14 volts.

Please see attached network...

Anyone willing to help would be most appreciated( not so easy c-out a teacher)

Thanks.............Buddy

Attachments

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Since you got that Req = 5Ω, then you should be able to answer the following fairly easily:

Q1) How much of the 16A flows to the right when it hits the bottom node from the battery?
Q2) What is the resistance of the path consisting of R{3,4,5,7,8}?
Q3) What is the resistance of the path through R{6,9}?
Q4) With these in mind, what is the current in each of these two paths?
Q5) Given I3, how much of that current goes through R4?
Q6) How does the portion of I3 that doesn't go through R4 split between R5 and R{7,8}?

Given I8 and I9, you should be able to find Va (relative to the bottom node) and Vb (again, relative to the bottom node) and then take the difference since Vab = Va - Vb.

BTW: The answers given are correct.

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
Seems to me all your answers are correct at least at the integer parts. :) May be you could try something more difficult.:D

Allen

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Seems to me all your answers are correct at least at the integer parts. :) May be you could try something more difficult.:D

Allen
I think the answers were given and he is having trouble figuring out how to get all but the first one.

buddy0591

Joined Sep 29, 2014
Let me help you to put the diagram right. It would help make people to see it much easily.View attachment 80220
Thanks , I thought I did.
Since you got that Req = 5Ω, then you should be able to answer the following fairly easily: