Rigol DS1052E Oscilloscope acting wierd

LarsHansen

Joined Mar 3, 2014
Im rather new to electronics, and Im really in trouble here.

Im have a bit of a puzzle here, regarding my Rigol DS1052E Oscilloscope. Im trying to adjust the probes but get a wierd result on ch 1. For both channels I use the same settings: Coupling = DC Bandwith limit = on Probe = 10x (Also 10x on the actual probe) Digital filter = OFF.

I use the squarewave on the scope as input for both channels, and I use the same (one) probe for both channels. Channel 2 gives me the expected squarewave with 3 volt signal. Channel 1 however gives me 1/5 = 600 mV and the signal is noway near a squarewave. Se attached photos.

Please give me your advice. If I can assist you with further information, then please feel free to comment regarding this.

Thanks in advance.
20160830_212126[1].jpg 20160830_215207[1].jpg

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
I am not familiar with your scope. By looking at the photos, it appears to me that you don't have the proper settings for a comparison. I see a couple of setup differences.

In the first photo, you only have an input at cur-b. But in the second photo, you have both inputs. Also, in both photos, bottom right, cur-b is selected, if that means anything.

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
Ok, why does the cur at top of screen in top photo show an input on cur-b and no input at cur-a, but in bottom photo shows two inputs?

Just curious. I have been tempted to buy one.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
If you are just moving the probe from input A to input B without changing anything else then it would seem you have a problem with your oscilloscope.
Note: If you take pictures without the flash the screen will show up much better.

SLK001

Joined Nov 29, 2011
Is channel 1 AC coupled?

EDIT: I see that it is DC coupled. What did you measure on chan 1 that could have damaged the input?

Lestraveled

Joined May 19, 2014
It appears to me that you have a problem with channel one.