RF - High Frequency Issues in Design/Implementation

Gerardo Sanchez

Joined Feb 14, 2017
Hello!

I'm new to the world of RF! I had a pretty basic question. So I'm currently building (or trying) a Radar system using some off-the-shelf components, two coffee tin can (acting as my antennas) and a teensy for ADC, and MATLAB to process the teensy data. So I'm currently building and testing using 2.5GHz components. But I was just wondering: what are some issues that you run into when you use higher frequency like say 20-30GHz? I know power becomes an issues - components will need more power to operate at higher frequencies - which also creates a cost issue for components that can take higher frequency. But what other issues in RF design and implementation come about with using higher frequencies?

Any discussion/feedback is much appreciated!

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I think the two biggest impediments to successful High Frequency Design are lack of intuitive knowledge about the physics involved and the utter lack of low cost and/or free design tools. A basic piece of test equipment, the VNA, can cost as much as a starter home. Not many hobbyists have that kind of scratch in their hip pockets.

Gerardo Sanchez

Joined Feb 14, 2017
I think the two biggest impediments to successful High Frequency Design are lack of intuitive knowledge about the physics involved and the utter lack of low cost and/or free design tools. A basic piece of test equipment, the VNA, can cost as much as a starter home. Not many hobbyists have that kind of scratch in their hip pockets.
I see, cost is a huge factor. Would you say there would also be issues with noise? Bigger frequency = more noise?

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
I see, cost is a huge factor. Would you say there would also be issues with noise? Bigger frequency = more noise?