Relay for a 6V toy battery to 9V switch

jpardue

Joined Feb 28, 2015
Hi all - apologies if this has already been asked, but i am no expert and despite looking around was not able to find an answer. i have a special needs little girl who uses an Ablenet Big Mack switch to communicate; this button has an output so that when you hit a big button it can activate a toy. I plugged in a mono audio jack and then spliced the other end into a power wheel. So no when she hits her button while sitting in the car, the car will go. this worked initially but then stopped because i think it fried the switch (which are very expensive). after reading around, i believe that the problem is likely that the current from the car battery was too much for the special needs switch which takes a 9 volt battery. i am trying to buy a relay to put between the car and switch, but i dont know how to do this or what to buy. is this the right direction, and if so, does anyone know what type of relay that i should buy? please see below for information on the parts that i am using

special needs button: https://www.enablemart.com/bigmack-communicator?gclid=CPzO5oXHhcQCFUMjgQodthcABA

power wheel: http://www.walmart.com/ip/26094901?...34824832&wl4=&wl5=pla&wl6=78294790592&veh=sem

end product: http://www.udel.edu/gobabygo/

Marcus2012

Joined Feb 22, 2015
Hi