Rebuilding an old massage bed. Needing simple way to show roller height.

randysgym

Joined Feb 2, 2021
This is my first post here. I am an novice in the world of electronic/electrical circuits, especially compared to those I've read here. I understand what resistors, relays, potentiometers, and leds are...basically. I'll do my best to research to figure out any help you can give me. So thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Someone gave me an old chiropractic electric massage bed. The switch wiring had been badly hacked up (literally and figuratively). I've now got all 4 motors working properly (up&down, back&forth, rollers forward&backward, and vibration). It's quite heavily built, weighing in at around 250lbs (about 110kg).

The display panel is missing a way to show the height (up&down) level of the massage rollers. I was thinking to buy a slider potentiometer which would be mechanically controlled by the roller carriage rising and lowering. Then the voltage variations given by the potentiometer slider movement could be simply shown on a small volt meter mounted into the control panel.

The bed is powered by 120VAC on a 15amp circuit.

If I got a potentiometer and volt meter capable of handling that much power, would I need any other parts to make my simple circuit work reliably and safely? If so, what parts and some idea of how to wire it up, please?

Another question...
If I wanted to also wire in an LED to indicate power-on, would I need a special kind of LED, or just a resistor ahead of it? If yes on the resistor, what size?

If all this is not really electronic or somehow insulting to this forum please accept my apologies. Any help in directing my questions to a better source would be equally appreciated. Thanks for reading.

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
That can work- does the unit have any DC power available inside?
Do you have a panel meter selected yet?