Real time Capacitor "Time constant" observation using an osciloscope

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Mozee, Sep 21, 2017.

1. Mozee

Thread Starter Member

Jul 23, 2016
    Hello,
    I want to observe the charging capacitor voltage curve using the Rigol DS1054Z oscilloscope but I want it to be in real time e.g. to watch the curve being created not just a straight line going up and down and then to be able to use the cursor function to find out the time. I've setup the circuit and I'm probing around the capacitor, I'm new to oscilloscopes so a good explanation or setup by step on how to setup my o'scope would be great.

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Simple. You need a square wave generator feeding a low-pass or high-pass RC filter circuit.
    Connect CH1 to the output of the square ware generator.
    Connect CH2 to the output of the RC circuit.

3. Mozee

Thread Starter Member

Jul 23, 2016
    Hey friend,
    I do understand the circuit configuration, I just don't know how to set my oscilloscope (RIgol DS1054z) to record and display the waveform.
    When I select the "Utility" function then "Record" then when recording the waveform all I see is a straight line on the graticule goes up indicating that the voltage is increasing but I want this representation to look like a curve slowly increasing in amplitude until the cap. is fully charged then it will look like a straight line again at the max voltage.

4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Get back to first principles.
    What is the value of R and C?
    What is the time constant RC?
    What is the HORIZONTAL TIME/DIV setting on your scope?

For example, if R = 1kΩ and C = 0.1μF
    RC = 100μs

Set your HORIZONTAL TIME/DIV for 500μs/DIV to get an overview.
    Set your square wave generator to 500Hz.

Then change HORIZONTAL TIME/DIV for 200μs and 100μs for an expanded view.

Mozee and MrSoftware like this.
  5. MrSoftware

Oct 29, 2013