RDF and Dipole antenna help

GrassCube

Joined Apr 1, 2015
Hi,
im a bachelor's mechanical engineering student, and im currently working on a project that involves a robot finding, locking on, tracking and steering the robot to the target.
Basically i figured out the 2 methods i would like to use for the tracking, but i need help with the transmission and receiving the signal, as i have zero knowledge in this field .

This is what i want to achieve:
-Setting up a transmitter, with a continues transmission (with on/off switch).
-Building a receiver using an Arduino board so that i can track the direction of the signal.
-The transmitter will be set at a max distance of about 20-25 meters.
-The robot should get up to 20 cm from the target (so it should be accurate)

The methods:
I found 2 methods that use radio waves (instead of GPS) for tracking a target, i will begin with the one i think will work the best.

1)Method 1: RDF - Radio Direction Finder

This is what im trying to use and modify for my needs, link.

My questions about this method:
-Can i build a transmitter with the same parameters as the walkie-talkie by myself, and how hard would it be?
i need it to just transmit a signal.
-The robot must fit in a 30x30x30 cm cube, so the length of the antenna of 11.5 inches is exceeding the parameters. In the instructions it says that the antenna should be 1/2 a wavelength long or less, what happens if i shorten the antenna, and what is the minimal length i can use the retain the accuracy and range?
-Dose the dipole antenna has to be straight or can it be a bit curved backwards (in case i wont be able to shorten it and will have to place it inside the robot casing)?
-I know that if i get higher Mhz i can shorten the dipole antenna, how can i achieve that?

2)Method 2: RSSI

This is what i found about this method, link
I understand this method a bit less.

My questions about this method:
-On what kind of signal this method works?
-Can i build a transmitter?