Question regarding put capacitor in series with the gate of mosfet

ir_tronik

Joined Jul 12, 2017
Hi, I studied an application from Linear Technology about the battery reverse protection circuit.
But, I do not understand in some parts of the circuit below about the capacitor C1 provides an ultra fast charge pump to drive the gate of MN1 Mosfet down during reverse battery attach. Could someone explain to me on how the C1 works in this circuit?
battery reverse.JPG

Last edited by a moderator:

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
With just R3 switching the MOSFET would take longer than if the gate signal goes through C1.

C1 and the input capacitance of the MOSFET form a capacitive voltage divider with most of the pulse amplitude appearing at the gate of the MOSFET. If C1 was not there you would be driving the gate capacitance through R3, which would cause an RC delay in the switching.

ir_tronik

Joined Jul 12, 2017
With just R3 switching the MOSFET would take longer than if the gate signal goes through C1.

C1 and the input capacitance of the MOSFET form a capacitive voltage divider with most of the pulse amplitude appearing at the gate of the MOSFET. If C1 was not there you would be driving the gate capacitance through R3, which would cause an RC delay in the switching.
Could you elaborate more on the operation? Let say during the reverse connection, what will happen.
I could not understand the operation during reverse.

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015
I'm going to use some wrong terminology - and probably get yelled at for doing so - but - - -