Question before I try this

diggerdugger2022

Joined Feb 6, 2024
Hello all, I am still learning here so bad with me.

I would like to use the following laptop adapter as a breadboard power supply for multiple projects for testing. The adapter is 19.5v 3.33A 65W.
I removed a 5v regulator from another board that I tested with a multimeter. I have 1000uf 25v capacitors and some 3v voltage regulators alond with some 100uf ceramic capacitors. If i connect the adapter to the breadboard and use the 5v regulator with 1 x 1000uf cap and a 100uf cap, would it be safe for a 5v device?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Depends on a lot of details you haven't provided.

What is the 5 V regulator? If it's a regulator that isn't designed to have an input voltage of 19.5 V, it's not going to be safe.

If you are trying to power something that is going to draw 3.33 A, that poor regulator is going to be dissipating nearly 50 W, which it is unlikely to be happy about.

diggerdugger2022

Joined Feb 6, 2024
Depends on a lot of details you haven't provided.

What is the 5 V regulator? If it's a regulator that isn't designed to have an input voltage of 19.5 V, it's not going to be safe.

If you are trying to power something that is going to draw 3.33 A, that poor regulator is going to be dissipating nearly 50 W, which it is unlikely to be happy about.
1708723108307.png this is the 5v voltage regultor. I wanted to use the 19.5v laptop charger as a power source for testing 5v microcontrollers with sensors on a breadboard. I wanted to use the voltage regulator to only grant the device I am trying to power 5v.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
View attachment 316011 this is the 5v voltage regultor. I wanted to use the 19.5v laptop charger as a power source for testing 5v microcontrollers with sensors on a breadboard. I wanted to use the voltage regulator to only grant the device I am trying to power 5v.
That's just a generic 3D rendering of a particular case style (TO-220, if I'm not mistaken).