Question about lookup tables

hunterage2000

Joined May 2, 2010
I am new to programming in C and want to know how to:

convert an analogue voltage from 0 to 5V to display in 0.1 steps to give 50 possible outputs to two 7seg displays.

The A/D converter is 10 bit so the analogue value of:

0V would be from 0 to 20.47
0.1 = 20.48 to 40.96 etc

I guess it would be possible to have 50 if statements to output the 7seg values but I something about a lookup table is quicker but I'm sure how this is done.

Can someone explain this to me and maybe give some code?

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
It is not quite clear what you are asking.

A 10-bit ADC will output a binary value from o to 1023.
If this corresponds to analog voltages from 0 to 5V, then 1 step = 5V/1024 = 4.88mV

Ignore the desire for 50 steps for the moment. (There is possibly no need to worry about the number of steps).

What do you want to be displayed on a 2-digit display with full scale 5V input?

hunterage2000

Joined May 2, 2010
Basically to have a 0 to 5V input coming in and to display 0.0 to 5.0 on the 7segs.

Eventually this will be for a display on a DC power supply

pwdixon

Joined Oct 11, 2012
It could as simple as read the value then use multiple if statements to test if the reading is greater than the lower band value and less than the upper band value then display appropriate value. Of course each step requires knowledge of C and the hardware involved.

hunterage2000

Joined May 2, 2010
So this would be 50 if statements that would be scanned 1 by 1? Would it be possible to use 50 interrupts or is this not typical? I heard a lookup table would be used if there is lots of possible outputs.

pwdixon

Joined Oct 11, 2012