PWM output voltage problem (555 circuit)

Nerat

Joined May 23, 2016
Hello,

I'm fairly new to electronics and i built myself a PWM circuit for fan speed control.

I used below schematic and i built it on breadboard first. It worked fine.

http://www.afrotechmods.com/groovy/PWM_tutorial/PWMcircuitwithmotor.jpg

Only difference is that i added a capacitor (25V, 470uF) in parallel to motor and diode to reduce humming sound.

So i decided to build it on perfboard (single copper holes). This was my first built btw.

My problem is that output voltage is constant at 12V, no matter what the pot resistance is. I checked the connections they seem correct.

As this is a very straightforward and aged circuit, i thought you might know what would cause this issue. Could you please help me troubleshoot the circuit? Could the transistor be damaged? It was very hot to touch while soldering and I had to use bit heat due to multiple single connections on perfboard.

Marley

Joined Apr 4, 2016
The capacitor is probably the problem. Remove it.
The motor will make a whistling sound due to the PWM switching. This is normal.

One way to reduce the sound is to make the PWM frequency higher so that it above the range of normal hearing. Most people can not hear much above 15kHz.

Nerat

Joined May 23, 2016
I tested the capacitor on breadboard before putting it together on perfboard.

I could adjust duty cycle with capacitor connected and it got rid of the sound. I don't see why it would be problem now.

dannyf

Joined Sep 13, 2015
My problem is that output voltage is constant at 12V, no matter what the pot resistance is. I checked the connections they seem correct.
This is quite simple: if the connection is correct but the circuit isn't working, your circuit isn't correct or the parts are defective.

No other possibilities.

Nerat

Joined May 23, 2016
I already know that something is defective or shouldn't be there.