Project Help

Arsalan Raghib

Joined Mar 21, 2013
Hi everyone! I am new to PIC16F877A programming. I am making a project based on this controller. The project has just to sense current and make a decision to continue which supply. i need to know what is the current sensor? is there any ic in proteus software? can i compare current using pic comparator? The circuit diagram is given:

Attachments

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
  1. How much current are we talking about?
  2. Can the circuit, in which the current is monitored, be modified? I.e., do you want a non-invasive solution?
  3. Have you searched for "current sensor"?

Arsalan Raghib

Joined Mar 21, 2013
I need small current upto 1 Ampere.
Yes the circuit can be modified and can be replaced by any solution.
Yes Sir i have studied about current sensor ACS712. But can it convert the current into voltage?

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Looking at your pink diagram, I do not understand the project requirements. The way that your requirements are usually implemented is to use diode current steering; not current sensors..

It seems you need a AC powered DC power supply. That supply can also be configured to charge the battery. If the AC fails you want the three loads to automatically be powered from the battery. This is usually done doing steering diodes; not relays. Not even voltage sensing is required, since the switchover is totally automatic. It seems that the microprocessor is redundant, unless there are some other, unstated project requirements.

If the voltage(s) for the three loads are different, or need very precise regulation, then put individual voltage regulators downstream of a single set of steering diodes (where DC supply current is ORed with battery current).

What are the three required voltages? How accurate does the voltage have to be?

Last edited:

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010