Project - Electrical Stimulation on Eradicating Bacteria/Biofilms

Trenton Hasty

Joined Jul 5, 2017
Hello all,

I have a project in mind, but I am fairly new to project design.

The goal is to produce a device similar to a modified TENs device. The idea would be to have controllable parameters such as voltage, current, and wave forms.

The research I have on eradicating bacteria/biofilms all range from either saying pulsed high voltage works well, to direct current varying from 20 uA to 2,000 uA works well, to a combination of both with varying application time.

I am not interested in which works the best as I will perform my own experiments. I just need help in understanding what could be develop for an electrical stimulation output device with controllable/adjustable parameters.

Also, I am compiling together an excel spreadsheet of all the various in vitro experiments that have already been done using electrical stimulation and I am coming across a wide range of used parameters, which is fine like I said, but I have a basic electrical engineering question I am wondering about with using one of these programmable power supplies.

If one researcher states that direct currents of anywhere between 500 uA to 5 mA successfully kills bacteria, and another states that high pulsed voltages around 250 - 300 Volts at 40 - 128 pulses per second successfully kill bacteria. Can I combine these values and stimulate bacteria with a pulsed 250 - 300 Volts AND have a current flowing in the range of 500 uA - 5mA?

In my head I almost imagine these pulses acting like a switch, and when they are switched 'on' current is also being the circuit element (bacteria).

Thanks again for all your help.

I have also attached some interesting articles on the matter for reading.

Attachments

Externet

Joined Nov 29, 2005