Programming Microprocessors

supakoopa

Joined Sep 11, 2017
Hello,
this is my first time on these forums so i don't know if i'm doing it right.
For the last few days i've been trying to get into microprocessors, however i just don't know where to start. My questions are:
How do i get into embedded computing?
How do I run a microprocessor?
How do i program the microprocessor, what language do i use, how do i actually wire up the microprocessor to get it programmed?
What hardware do i need?
I'm looking forward to getting a better understanding of this.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Welcome to AAC and the wonderful world of microcontrollers.
There are many paths from which to choose, too many to list here.

One would begin by choosing a platform, which is usually tied to a specific manufacturer.

Start by reading this recent thread and then come back and ask more questions.

philba

Joined Aug 17, 2017
seriously.

edit: by the way, people don't bat an eye when someone asks questions about 30+ year old micros, so why all the snark for the lowly arduino?

Last edited:

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
seriously.

edit: by the way, people don't bat an eye when someone asks questions about 30+ year old micros, so why all the snark for the lowly arduino?
There are some on this forum that seem to have an Arduinophobia.
I can't understand it as the Arduino is by far the easiest and cheapest to start with. They are by no means the best micros around but that in itself is almost a religious argument.
So supakoopa, have a look at the thread mentioned earlier, and have fun with an Arduino to start with. Don't be put off Arduinos by those people. The Arduino was designed to teach electronics after all. Electronics is a great hobby.

Last edited:

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
Microcontrollers, like computers in general, come and go. Don't get attached to one platform.

There was Amiga, Commodore PET, VIC20, TRS-80, Sinclair ZX80, Apple II, IBM, Mac, etc.