Proform 320cx PCB component identification and repair

LoocPac

Joined Dec 21, 2019
I found a Proform 320cx on the side of the road in what seemed like great condition. got a replacement power supply and plugged it in to find out there was an issue. I disassembled the main controller and found 1 component burned. A small black block labeled DP 2. I searched online to just find a replacement board, but all I can find is a replacement for the entire device, which is several hundred dollars and not worth it.
Unfortunately I can not see any markings on the component, which is why I am here. Where the component was is charred, but the traces on the reverse side seem fine, so if i can identify the component I should be able to connect it directly to the trades after a little work and some resin to repair the board.
Please see attached photos, any help would be great. I am still learning components so without markings I am a bit lost.

Attachments

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
If that object is DP2, then it seems that there should be a dp1 some place on the board, and if it is not burned up you may find a number on it. The label is an indication of what circuit drawing component it is, not a part or model number. It may be that youi will need to locate a circuit drawing to get the information that you need. And it may be that tracing out thwe circuit will let you know what the part was. DP2 may be short for "diode , protective, 2"
And one additional thing is that to burn up a component that completely takes a bit of power. Usually parts do not just burn up for no reason. So either the voltage across the part suddenly became far too much, or the current through the part became too much. So there is probably a short circuited component that caused the part to fail. For that you need to be able to trace the circuit and see what components couldcause the failure.

Last edited:

LoocPac

Joined Dec 21, 2019