Processor or MCU for Project [SOLVED]

Pushkar1

Joined Apr 5, 2021
I'm not an expert in designing embedded products, just trying to understand how products are designed.

As far as I know embedded products can be designed in two ways. The first way is to use a microcontroller in the product and the second way is to use a microprocessor in the product. As I found information on the internet , peripherals are inbuilt in the microcontroller, whereas if we have to design the products.with the processor, we need peripherals.

Anyway question if you are designing any product then how do you decide whether you need microcontroller or microprocessor?

If your answer is that it depends on the requirement then I would like to show a list of some embedded products. You can take the requirement of any product for example There are some embedded product like wi-fi router, set top box, tv remote, washing machine. I am sure it all comes under the category of embedded products. It is very difficult for me according to my ability to find out what they are used microcontroller or microprocessor.

I'm sorry if my question irritates you but this is first thing that comes to my mind when I think to design any product.

Warm regards
Pushkar

MisterBill2

Joined Jan 23, 2018
The choice depends on a number of variables, starting with component availability. If the parts are unavailable for some reason then production stops. So component availability has a big influence.
Another factor is the designer's skill set, and what devices they best know how to use . That affects development time and cost.
And cost is always a huge influence on which arrangement is selected. Often the main influence.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006