Power supply 230VAC/24DC input, 24V, 12V, 5V, 3.3V output

starsnpixel

Joined Dec 23, 2018
Hi guys,

I have zero experience with power supply design so I hope you can help me with choosing the right one. The system I want to run has the following properties:

Input (either or, not simultaneously):
- 230VAC
- 24VDC

Required outputs (simultaneously):
- 24V @ 2,5A
- 24V @ 1A
- 12V @ 0,1A
- -12V @ 0.1A
- 12V @ 3.5A
- 12V @ 3.5A
- 5V @ 3A
- 5V @ 2.5A
- 3.3V @ 0.1A
- 2V @ 0.4A

My idea was 1. a converter from 230VAC to 24VDC and then stepping to the respective voltages from there. But maybe there's a better solution? I thought about an ATX computer power supply unit but one that runs with 24VDC input but the only one I found is ~$360. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
If your inputting 24V dc, then you only need a Variable buck regulator, or a separate regulator for each voltage under 24V..

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I'd drop the AC input option and just accept 24VDC input. Is that 24V power source capable of sourcing 18-20 amps?

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
Critical question - when running on the 24 Vdc input, do the output have to be galvanically isolated from the input? If the application is vehicle or MIL power, the answer almost always is yes.

Also, does the supply have to meet safety certifications (UL, CSA, TUV, etc.)?

Also also, do the duplicated outputs need to come from separate regulators?

Also also also, is there any specific power-up or power-down sequencing required?

I've done this more than once. Typically I'd use a 24V/24V DC/DC converter with enough output current to run everything, then post-regulate all of the other outputs with linears or bucks. A 555 or a small buck/boost can generate the -12 V.

ak

BR-549

Joined Sep 22, 2013
It's a bad idea to start out with such a difficult project.

A desktop computer power supply will give you over half of the stated specs. 30 bucks brand name amazon. Cheaper on ebay.