Potentiometers and tilt angle measurement

pleeds

Joined Oct 20, 2016
Hi,

I'm a PhD student in Design and I'm looking to construct a platform which tilts and the angle of its rotation to be measured. I know very very little about electronics and cannot figure out how I'd use a potentiometer to read the angle of the tilt (apart from translating its voltage to an angle). Any ones explanation or help would be much appreciated.

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
"Apart from translating its voltage to an angle?" IMHO, that would be the most direct method.

Are you manually tilting the platform? If not, what controls it's movement?

How would you measure the pots value (and hence the tilt in degrees)? With a microcontroller? What do you want to do with the output?

Can you code?

Can you provide more detail at a block level as to what you see so far?

I would use a microcontroller and two analog pins. First, I'd write a short program to calibrate the pots in angles. Secondly, I'd attach an LCD screen to display the results. The formula to convert the reading to an angle is developed the same as determining the formula of a line through two points. High School math.

pleeds

Joined Oct 20, 2016
Hi, thanks. I can't code! I'm trying to find externally someone who can and can help. The platform will be tilting with a 0.9 deg stepping motor and I want to use the tilt platform to measure the angle at which water droplets roll off fabric. I'm just trying to find out how the tilt angle could be measured and what other items I might need.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008