Please Read! Any suggestions on how to make a current limiting circuitry?

Hooriya

Joined Oct 4, 2015
I am a student of Electrical Engineering and I am currently working on a biomedical device which stimulates a human arm through functional electrical stimulation technique. Now for instance, if something gets damaged in the circuit due to which a large amount of current starts flowing then, the human arm can get damaged. So, I want to make something like a breaker myself which will break the circuit right then.
I considered using a fuse but the problem with a fuse is that it will allow the current flow through to arm atleast once before cutting off the connection.
I want to make a limiting circuit that has a low foot print so that the device doesn't look too large. Could you please give me some suggestions?
Any help will be appreciated.
Thank you! :)

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
One solution: Include a low-ohms shunt resistor in the circuit, say 0.1Ω, rated for whatever wattage is appropriate for your circuit. While operating, there will be a small voltage drop across this resistor. You can set a comparator (LM339, for instance, 4 comparators in one IC) to watch that voltage. If it gets too high, indicating too much current, it could trigger and shut off your circuit. I might control a relay or a transistor acting as a switch. You would need it to latch, so it stays off until reset.

A downside of an active circuit like this is that it requires power. If you have DC power on board already, that may not be a problem.

What sort of current are you looking at? Maybe a low amp circuit breaker is appropriate?

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
The answer may be as simple as using a resistor or two in series with whatever is supplying the stimulus to the arm. A fuse would be far too slow to operate. Have you researched what the maximum current should be, for safety reasons? It's surprisingly low.

mcasale

Joined Jul 18, 2011