PIC16F877A > MAX7219 > 8x8 Multiplex Communications

Ben_C

Joined Oct 19, 2010
Hi, this is my last resort after attempting setting up communications and getting the correct result from my code.

Basically I need a simple working example program in C to display say:

Code:
//Digit 1

B01000000
B11000000
B01000000
B01000000
B01000000
B01000000
B11100000
I have it connected as so:
(MAX7219 > PIC16F877A)

DIN.........> RC5
LOAD/CS.> RC0
CLK.........> RC3
ISET........> +VE (through 10K)

I'm using PIC16F877A, MAX7219CNG and 1088BS Multiplex display. I have tried numerous times looking on data sheet to set the SFR's but I'm getting no where. There is plenty of examples on Google for Arduino but would prefer to use the PIC as it's what I'm used to.

I've never used a display driver before I've always used PORTS on the Microchip and could do this using them, but I have a big project in mind and would love to use Serial data instead.

Any help would be massively appreciated!

Ben.

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
Do you have any code so far?
I haven't used the 7219 but it doesn't look too difficult. I'd start by not worrying about the internal specifics too much - the thing is controlled by shifting 16 bits, MSbit first, to it. Start there.
I think I'd make a function that accepts 2 chars, the digit data byte and command byte. The function combines these into an unsigned int and shifts that int out bit by bit then strobes the LOAD input on the 7219. After that, its just data.
With no programming/setup, the 7219 scans one digit at low intensity with no decoding. Test the shift code by calling the output routine with 01xxh where 01 addresses digit 0 and xx is a segment pattern.
Post what you have and we can take a look at it.

Good luck.

Ben_C

Joined Oct 19, 2010
I have this at the moment, as I said I don't fully understand SPI and never used it before so this is probably a million miles away from what I need. I just need a simple working program on which I can build on.