Photo interrupter advice needed

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Phil Russell, Mar 3, 2018.

1. Phil Russell

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 21, 2014
    Hello, I wonder if someone can offer advice regarding a photo interrupter:
    It is part of a small circuit board on a mini lathe that provides a spindle speed readout. The component has the following codes: H12A5 ICI on the circuit board near the component and GK 105 moulded on the component itself. The gap is 5mm (as far as I can measure) and the component is a 4 pin one.
    I have been trying to find a replacement for this component but despite trawling the web have found no information. I am no electronics expert so can provide no data on voltages etc, sorry.
    Is there a list of 'equivalents' anywhere that would allow me to get a replacement component to fit? I am quite able to remove / replace components on a board. Why do I need a new component? I suspect the old one has broken as the casing seems loose on the pins.
    All help would be appreciated.
    Regards

Phil

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
  3. Phil Russell

Dec 21, 2014
    Hi Max, thank you for your response, it is appreciated. But I am confused.
    Are you saying that a TCST1103 will be a direct replacement for the H12A5?
    I looked up the 1103 and it says '3.1'mm which I assume is the gap between the component arms? If so, the H12A5 has about a 5mm gap and I would be concerned that the 3.1mm is a tad too narrow for the spinning disc on the rotating spindle.
    Sorry for being so ignorant but I am not an electronics expert.
    Cheers, Phil

4. MisterBill2

Jan 23, 2018