PCB Relays - General questions replacing a bad relay

jfeazell

Joined Oct 26, 2022
For a quick bit of background, I'm a software engineer and a ham radio operator, not an electrical engineer. So, while I can certainly find my way around all things electronic, I would not assume that I know anything that is "common knowledge" in the field. Having said that, I'm working a little project and need some direction. :)

I have a HarvestRight freeze dryer, and the unit isn't working. I've diagnosed the problem down to a relay mounted on the relay board in the unit. The relay seems to have failed and while the coil energizes, there is no high voltage coming from the contacts to energize the heater inside the machine. HR is replacing the whole relay borad, but I'm keeping the old one and I intend to replace the bad relay on it so that I have a backup. I would actually like to make an "improved" version, which is why I'm here. That brings to mind two general questions...

1) Is the pinning / shape / size (what I would call the "form factor" in the vernacular of computer components) the same for relays within a certain family / style of relay?

2) In keeping with #1, do other components (like a socket, for example, or a solid-state relay versus an electromechanical relay) share the same form-factor / pinout?