Oscillating voltage 0-2-0

aditz

Joined Dec 13, 2016
Hello

I have a device that stopped working suddenly. Now the voltage required by it is not constant anymore. It is just 0V, 2V, 0V and so on, changing every second. Could anyone guide me into finding the cause of it?

Thank you!

aditz

Joined Dec 13, 2016
The device is an iPad. I have a small device that reads the required voltage in series with the usb cable (charger->voltage read device->usb cable->ipad) and this is how I saw the "anomaly". I am a beginner in electronics and I don't know the terms so good. I was curios what component can cause this oscillating behavior.

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Does the iPad fail to charge properly? Does the iPad, in other respects, work correctly?
The charger should provide a fixed voltage which should be 5V if it is USB. It is possible that the iPad is faulty and drawing too much current and so dragging the charger output down. It is also possible that the charger is faulty and is failing to provide the correct voltage. I guess it is also possible that it is the voltage measurement part is faulty.
To decide which is happening you need to either use a different charger or a different iPad.

aditz

Joined Dec 13, 2016
Thank you for your reply.
The charger is tested on another ipad and works good.
The part with "drawing too much current" is interesting. Could you please give me more details? Should I go to the ipad's mainboard to check for something? What can cause this power draw? ICs or caps?

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Thank you for your reply.
The charger is tested on another ipad and works good.
The part with "drawing too much current" is interesting. Could you please give me more details? Should I go to the ipad's mainboard to check for something? What can cause this power draw? ICs or caps?
When the charger was tested on the other iPad, was the voltage measurement gadget in circuit, and what reading did you get?