Oscillating Lamp

DsHs

Joined Jan 21, 2016
Hi,

First of all, thanks for taking me in. I'm new to this forum.
I have a Masters in Electrical and Computer Engineering, but I've been working on software for more than a year, so I'm a little rusty.

Now, I'm starting a project for a gift. I have a nice lamp that I'll turn into a Tardis (did I mention I work with wood as a hobby?).
I'd like to make the lamp turn on and off in an oscillating manner. So, the function of luminosity (or power) would look like an increasing sinusoid when turning on, hitting and stabilizing at a top cap. The reverse would be true when turning off. I can draw something if it turns out I did not make myself clear.
Actually, I had the idea a couple of hours ago and the little search I made lead to some information on blinking/oscillating lamps, but I'd prefer to avoid buying an Arduino for this.

Considering this is a 230V lamp, are there any circuit schematics around? I have some from my school days, but they are for 10~12V. I have a soldering iron and a dubious multimeter. Aside from that, I don't have a lab to test stuff now, so there's not a lot of room for trial and error.
I expect such a specific thing to not just be lying around, so I'd settle for a lamp oscillator and then go on from there.

Any ideas where I should turn to? Thanks in advance.

DsHs

Joined Jan 21, 2016
I must tell you. I was not expecting answers so soon. I'll give more details once I get back home. I'll need a scanner for this :). Plus, I'm not sure about the bulb details. It's a white bulb, but I can't give you more than that right now.

Picbuster

Joined Dec 2, 2013
The number to build and max price will guide you to the best components.
Is a gift so we need a 100K units to build price below the 7$ FOB without housing, package.
I could be interested. Please provide all information also the countries (locale regulation an certifications).

hp1729

Joined Nov 23, 2015
Hi,