Op Amp Open Loop - Small Current Pulse - Franklin's Bell

HumblePhys

Joined Nov 10, 2015
Hi, I am a teacher working on a lab activity involving op amps and I have basic circuit knowledge i.e. stuff from college physics books. I have a parallel plate capacitor setup and I am hanging a small steel bb from a string between the plates. This is basically the same setup as Franklin's Bell. The charge from the plates jumps onto to bb whenever the pendulum swings and makes contact with one of the plates. Once it is charged it will swing back to the other plate and discharge and pickup the opposite charge and in turn swing back to the original plate and thus the process repeats.

There is around 1kV between the plates give or take a few 100 V. I am trying to use an 741 Op Amp to amplify the current once the bb touches one of the plates. At the moment I am going for maximum gain and therefore I am using it in an open loop configuration. I have not been able to detect the bb, but I have been charging an aluminum plate through friction/inductance and touching it to the plates. A spike appears on my Pasco Capstone graph that is setup to read the voltage output from the Op Amp.

However, though I get a spike, it is sometimes inconsistent and the voltage level changes after the spike. I have a kilovolt power supply with a negative/ground/positive receptacles. Right now, my positive runs directly to the left plate. Ground is connected to my right plate and in between the ground and the right plate there is a 1 kOhm resistor to create a voltage drop. My Op Amp inputs are connected to the ends of this resistor with the idea being that when there is current there will be a small voltage that can be amplified by the op amp.