Old mercury operated thermostat replacement

marko1polo

Joined Oct 10, 2016
I am no electrician , and I don't know if this is the proper area for discussion , but here it goes anyhow ....

Yesterday , I lost heat on the first floor . The house is old and has a mercury operated thermostat on the main floor and 1 in the basement . With a broken oil tank gauge , I figured I was out of oil and got more heating oil . The cellar thermostat worked , but the main floor didn't ! So I dialed the thermostat for more heat and nothing ! The cellar thermostat when adjusting the desired heat setting , you hear a click signifying that the oil burner will run thus increased the water temperature for more heat . No click on the main floor ! So I figure the thermostat finally went ! Taking the old one off the wall , I see that only 2 wires come out of the wall for this manual "heat only" thermostat ; a red and white wire . Went and got a new thermostat to replace it . Seems pretty simple , however the existing plate that takes the red & white wire that has been that way for a gazillion years confused me as the white wire was connected to the screw marked "R" , and the red wire was connected to the screw Marked "W" ! I have heard of old home wiring that had colors that performed just the opposite , and I'm losing heat fast ! My question is .... Do I connect these wires to the new thermostat as the old one has been , or do I go red to red , and white to white ? If they are reversed , will I do damage to the system some how ? Please help ! The thermostat that is old is a Honeywell CT 87A 4447 1 !

Ylli

Joined Nov 13, 2015
The old thermostat was simply a spst switch. didn't make any difference which way the wires were attached. That may not be the case with the new thermostat. What make/model is the new one? Is it also just a two wire unit?

marko1polo

Joined Oct 10, 2016