NPN Transistor in Off-Time Delay Switch

mfiocca

Joined Dec 4, 2023
I am not an electrical engineer, and am just getting started learning and building small circuits. Total N00B.

But, I am trying to educate myself on building an off-time delay switch like this one: https://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/making-a-delay-off-timer.75748/

The main (albeit ignorant) questions that I have are:

1) What is the purpose of the NPN transistor in this circuit?
2) Is it possible to energize the relay coil (with flyback diode) without the transistor, connected directly?

My only uneducated guess would be that voltage needs to be amplified during capacitor drain in order for the relay contacts to stay closed. That's probably way wrong, but I am just curious to know what the purpose of the NPN is here.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Circuit in question:
relay_i.gif
1) What is the purpose of the NPN transistor in this circuit?
The transistor is being used as an emitter follower on the left and a switch on the right. An emitter follower is a current amplifier. A switch is a transistor being used in saturation mode.

I don't like either of the circuits.
Example Omron relay data:
1701707330600.png

In the emitter follower circuit, the relay will turn off when its dropout voltage is reached. That would be 1.2V for the 12V relay. Because the transistor is always in active mode, it will be dissipating potentially significant power as the base voltage decays.

In the circuit on the right, the transistor could also be dissipating potentially significant current power when it comes out of saturation. Again, the relay would open when the dropout voltage is reached.

I don't like either circuit.
2) Is it possible to energize the relay coil (with flyback diode) without the transistor, connected directly?
Only if you replace the transistor with a switch.