Noob Question - Simple volume control for PC and PAM8610 amp

Algray

Joined Oct 12, 2020
Hello everyone!

First of all, if you're beginning to read this, please understand that I am very new to electronics, I have little studies but I can at least not produce cold solder...most of the time. I also can't use the standard drawing softwares yet, as my knowledge is far from this (The attached image is a simple drawing).

Now, knowing the level of question this might be, I am planning to make a small volume control with an small board amp, that is the PAM8610.

I already have that board, and have been testing lately using a 9V .6A DC Power Supply. It already is able to achieve most of what I need, that is a low noise (idle) amplifier for small speakers. I want a simple system that I could attach a pair of speakers (or maybe bookshelf sound boxes in the future) and use as low do mid volume listening.

The simple volume control I was able to plan is...well, very simple, as far as my searches got me this far.

Right now I have a few questions regarding this small project, since I don't know what exactly I could use to minimize white noise to the output signals.

I want to keep at least one of the 2 P2 Stereo output signals being controlled by the Pot. (Which I am also not sure if I should use a 1k or 50k one)

The audio input will come from my PC (ALC1220 codec), the front P2 output will be mostly used for headphones (16 to 100 Ohm).

The back one would be to control volume when using any external amplifier or active system (I own a Edifier P3060 2.1 system, but it's volume controls are in the back of the sub...)

With this information, I am not sure which components I should use (and if it's actually needed) in this case.

I have seen that I could add a pair of 1k Resistors bridging the positive inputs to ground, adding resistance to decrease noise input, is this right? If so, is there any other resistor values I could use instead? (lower or higher than 1k?).