NOOB last minute help for my School Teacher Project

john hancock

Joined May 24, 2018
My wife teaches high school for future teachers.. they have a contest this weekend, she found on this morning one of the projects for competition is a duplicate of another group, so she needs to refactor it, its her fault not the kids, she asked if I could help. I have some experience in that I have a basic understanding of how it work, how logic works and I have tons of parts but now I am need some help.

I need a simple circuit I have arduino's but would prefer not to use them for this. This project needs to be interactive for middle school kids, basically we present them with 3 choices (pictures) and a question, like which one of these is poison ivy, which one of these is a conifer. Which one of these is an amphibian... the pictures would slide into a sleeve on a display board. Each sleeve would have a button. Push the button associated with the correct picture and the light turns green, wrong button and the light turns red. I need a way to code the pictures on the back with a dot or series of dots or colors or a black mark in the corner something so that the picture/questions really dont matter and can be added to quickly but the core functionality is the same. I also dont have much time so if I dont have the parts or something I can salvage them from then its not going to work. I know this could probably be done with a photo cell but no idea how to set it up..

Thanks in advance.

Marley

Joined Apr 4, 2016
Switches, buttons, relays and lights?
Have a 3-position switch round the back which selects the correct button. Press the correct button, relay latches, light green. Other buttons a different relay latches, light red. Also reset button round back (or possibly 4th position on the switch).
Something like that!
Better would be a small industrial PLC (if you happened to have something lying around) easier wiring, design can be tweeked/changed at will.

AnalogKid